April 5, 2011

  • What's in a name?

    Anyone who knows me well knows that I've always suffered some angst over my name.  There are so many possibilities:
    Mary Ann
    MaryAnn
    Marianne
    MarryAnn
    Mary???

    These days it's really hard to know how to really spell my name.  Is there a space or no space?  Those who have known me long know that it's

    "Mary Ann"

    But what those long-time friends don't know is that when I changed my surname, I also gave in and changed my first name as well.  I felt like a traitor to myself for doing so, but to be honest, I would rather someone omit the space than address me as Mary, because "Mary" is simply not my name.  So officially, it's MaryAnn, and I've grown to accept this spelling; but to be honest, in my heart of hearts, my name will always be --

    Mary Ann.

Comments (2)

  • Why did you change your first name? Yes you will always be Mary Ann!

  • You changed your first name? That's a pretty drastic measure to take to reduce confusion over a name with many variations. I used to wish that my parents gave me a more interesting name, but I eventually came around to seeing the advantages in my boring old conventional name.

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment