November 9, 2007

  • Sometimes it takes 9 years

    I arrived at the seminary early last night and checked my mailbox.  I found my first Greek exam in the box.  Just what I was looking for.  At the top of the page, I found a 1 followed by two 0s.  Apparently, I had only missed half a point and I got a 100%!  Can you believe that? 

    After that, I wandered into the prayer room.  There’s a clipboard in the prayer room with lines in which you could put prayer requests.  I flipped to the back where the old requests through the years had been placed.  I scanned the pages of names, page after page, and then I found it.  There was the entry:

    “Mary Ann —, 11/11/98, If God wants me to go to seminary, then He would open the doors (to Bethel).”

    I just sat back and smiled with wonder.  

    It’s been 9 years!

    I remember back then how badly I wanted to go to seminary.  I had only been a Christian for two years and felt certain that God had called me into the ministry –and I wanted to grow and learn as much as possible to be as useful a vessel for Him as possible.  But as badly as I wanted to learn in seminary, there were so many obstacles.  So I prayed and prayed and prayed. 

    Fast forward 9 years later, and there I was sitting in the same prayer room waiting for my Greek class to start.  Amazing.  Sometimes God puts desires in our hearts. Sometimes He calls us to pray for them.  And sometimes it takes 9 years before He answers.  And now 11/9/07, I see why it was so perfect that He waited 9 years to make dreams into reality.  Now is the perfect timing.  Perfect, just perfect.  With God –how could I ever doubt it? 

Comments (5)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *