September 11, 2007

  • "Adoption is the highest privilege that the Gospel offers." - J.I. Packer

    Adoption is different from being born into a family.  It's different because the one who was alone, abandoned, abused, neglected and unwanted gets to be swept up in a whirlwind of love, acceptance, affection, closeness, warmth and welcome.  The one who is adopted goes from being the unwanted one to being the wanted one.  He or she becomes the chosen one.  He or she becomes chosen!

    Being chosen.

    I only know a bit about not being chosen.  When I was in elementary school, we would have PE once a day.  Sometimes during PE, we would play sports like soccer or softball, and because I was terrible at sports, I would always stand there thinking, "Pick me, pick me," knowing full well that the two captains would not pick me until the very end when they absolutely had to.  I hated that feeling -- the embarrassed, awkward feeling of not being chosen, not being wanted.  It was always such a relief when at last someone would pick me to be a part of their team. 

    I can very easily put myself back in my little tennis shoes from the 4th grade and remember that aching feeling of being unwanted.  It is not much, but it is definitely something that helps me understand and put myself in another's shoes when I am reminded that God tells us that true religion that He accepts as pure and faultless is to look after the orphans and widows in their distress (Jas 1:27).

    The orphans and widows.  How many are out there who feel abandoned, neglected, unwanted, unloved?

    I know much about being chosen.  I've been chosen to belong to Jesus Christ (Rom 1:6).  I, who was once the prodigal daughter, was adopted by the Father to be his child and a co-heir with Christ.  I belong, I belong, I belong.  And how now do I respond to such generous love in a way that is pure and faultless? 

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment