August 24, 2006

  • Marital Curses

    “Now you do everything together, but just wait five years, then you will go your way and he will go his way and you will say, ‘I don’t want anything to do with you.’”  Someone actually pronounced this curse upon me – I guess she’s a little skeptical about marriage?

    On Sam’s first day back at work:
    CW1:  How do you like being married?
    Sam:  I love it!
    CW2:  Just wait a year, he’ll say something different.

    Some would have it that ”newlywed” is synonymous to “naive”.  Unrealistic, idealistic.  That marriage is actually like being stuck to an old ball and chain.  That wives nag and are oppressive and husbands are lazy and incompetent.  We hear references from spouses about their spouse dripping with sarcasm, sometimes subtle, sometimes biting – striking like daggers to the heart.  Even from the pulpit, you hear jokes alluding to ‘the ol’ wife’ and you half laugh because you are trying the best you can to cover how actually appalled you are, and you’re just so glad you’re not the wife being referred to. 


    Awful
    .  I hate it.  I hate the snide comments.   I hate the passive aggressive jabs at husbands and wives.  I hate the way marriage is pulled down to the trenches of a putrid pit like it’s the worse thing that can happen to anybody.  Even if it’s done in jest.    

    Maybe I am being a naive newlywed.  Maybe I am idealistic and unrealistic.  But I want to show the world something different.  That Sam & I will always want to do everything together and that we will always speak well of marriage and well of each other – no sarcastic words exchanged in private and no passive aggressive jabs to cut each other down in public.  Strange, it seems like just being happily married (for 12 days) is like swimming upstream.  The world just doesn’t expect it.  I pray that God would use our undeterred devotion to one another over the years to turn the tide. 

Comments (7)

  • Just a random reader… but this was beautiful and true. I needed to read it. Thank you.

  • Wow mary ann!! you guys are off to an awesome start!! praise god!! our story is quite different…but the awesome thing is that God has ways to redeem even the most broken marriages:)

  • yes, just like how the world wants to tear down God or the idea of God or the idea of God creating marriage to begin with.  thanks for sharing.   

  • MA, as one who just passed that 1 year mark, I’m glad to say I STILL love being married. And the year before and year after the wedding have been the toughest times of my life. Even under what I consider extreme duress, God has carried us through as we rely on His resources.
    May your marriage be a blessing to all who know you. And may you both always reflect the light of Christ to the “nay-sayers” and “wise of the world.” May the Lord bless you and cause your love for each other (second to your love for Him) to grow exponentially each year, for 5, 10, 20, 50+ years!!!

  • i will always love being married to my wife she’s the greatest thing to ever happen to me God first of course i love him and what he has done for us, the world esp…. family and friends don’t have clue towhat their talking about keep them far away from as possible and always keep Jesus Christ 1st and it will be okay some days will get rough remember his word mal.2:16

  • @topoftheworld12 - That’s great!  We just celebrated 26 months of marriage — and we still love spending all our time together.  We’re more in love than ever.  :)   Here’s to God — who knows who to make great marriages. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *