September 28, 2005

  • Boldness does not mean rudeness

    Just now, I prayed, “Lord, would you…could you…please…I know that you can do anything… but don’t answer me according to my demands but answer according to your plans.”
     
    I was reminded of Psalm 115:3, “Our God is in heaven; he does whatever pleases him.” 
     
    God is Lord, Sovereign, King.  He is Master.  I kneel before Him.  He does not kneel before me.  I bend to His ways.  He does not bend to mine.  He can do whatever He wants. 
     
    In light of these realities, I pray, “Lord, these are my desires, but I submit myself to you.”  We can ask God for ‘anything’ – with boldness – but that’s not the same thing as rudeness.  We have no right to bully Him nor stomp our feet or throw tantrums if we do not get our way.  The ‘right’ we possess to be heard by Him and have our requests answered by Him comes from His grace and His choosing.  He can choose to give or not to give.  *He* is God.  May He always have His way in me.

Comments (4)

  • thanks for sharing these last three posts on prayer, boldness, and submission (opposite of rudeness?).

  • hey mary ann, thanks for the congrats. it actually happened when i think you were in china, so you probably missed the post about it – i had some pics, so you you can look at july 6 for a few details, if you want. :)

    i’m so happy that things are working out for you and SamK – sounds like he’s the right kind of guy for you – i wish you the best.

  • That’s true and encouraging.. thanks for sharing

  • ahh.. i have been praying just like that.. and halfwondering if it was ok to do. thanks mree! when do i get to see you??

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *