September 7, 2005

  • Sorrow and Grief

    I just can’t  handle Julie‘s death alone.  Whenever I think of the memorial service and having to prepare for the “remembrance” sharing, I just want to run away.  My heart still aches from the loss of her and my eyes still sting at the thought of her… Oh Lord, help me bury my heart in you, my pounding fists, my longing for comfort – for you to please wrap your big strong arms around me to tell me everything will be ok – that you’ll quietly hold me, letting me cry rather than telling me to stop because “a believer shouldn’t cry like that as if there were no hope”, but grief must go through its full cycles, and, Lord, you know that.  Will you comfort me?  I’m still hurting.  And everyday, I feel it differently.  Everyday, I remember something different.  How come it hurts so badly, Lord?  Even while knowing she’s with you.  I can rejoice most of the day and yet there are these moments where it still hurts so badly I can hardly breathe.  Time passed hasn’t lessened the pain.  Lord, only you can stand with me in this pain.  Please stand with me.  I need you, Lord, I need you.

    When does healing come?  When does comfort come?

    Sorrow and grief feels a bit like being cold all the time – as if I was standing on the Golden Gate Bridge in the dead of winter with the icy strong winds slapping me in the face.  I keep longing for a big warm blanket (fresh out of the dryer) to wrap around my heart.  It feels so cold.

    Sorrow and grief feels like a heavy sack, filled beyond its capacity.  It’s pulled down, sagging and dragging.  It’s so heavy full of something – I’m not quite sure what it is in words but it seems to me as though it should break soon and let loose a mess that could never be mopped up.

    Sorrow and grief feels like pandemonium has broken out, right inside my insides.  There’s wildness, there’s frenzy, there’s a clamor of cacophony.  There’s so much chaos inside, I wonder if things could possibly come to order.

    Sorrow and grief feels like a pre-schooler – so fearful of life beyond the safety of what has always been known (the home) that the only response is to curl up in a ball and weep.  Softly, quietly, vulnerably.

    Sorrow and grief feels like a sigh – long and slow, exhaled after a deeep breath is taken in.  Deep breaths and yet I never feel like I’m getting enough air.

    Sorrow and grief feels like loneliness.  I’m standing on top of some hill in the dark with the bold moon shining down on me and crickets are chirping and there’s not a soul in sight.  I feel so lonely.

    Sorrow and grief – what is this thing I’ve never known before that keeps my eyes wet with tears?  It’s sharp and acute… and drives me to the only One who has ever known true grief before.  And You knew it so well, oh Lord, when You lost Your only Son.  Help me live in my grief in light of Your grief that I may truly live again – not in sorrow and grief but in the victory of the empty tomb.  Help me, Lord.  I pray that you would help me.

    “I say to God my Rock, ‘Why have you forgotten me?  Why must I go about mourning, oppressed by the enemy?’” 

    but… “Why are you so downcast, O my soul?  Why so disturbed within me?  Put your hope in God, for I will yet praise Him, my Savior and my God.”

    Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me, let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.  Then will I go to the altar of God, to God, my joy and my delightI will praise you with the harp, O God, my God.”  (Psalm 42 and 43)

Comments (14)

  • *sigh* thank you for sharing your feelings in this time. I’m so touched at how famous Julie is and how it brings Him glory.

  • her story has moved many people here in the southeast. it will NOT go unnoticed and will mobilize so many people.

    about the sorrow. it’ll never leave. i lost my dad last year and the sorrow will always be with me. random memories just come out of the blue and hit me hard. the sorrow just becomes a part of who you are and transforms your worldview. but we know that death cannot separate us.

  • thank you for being so transparent… i’ve been in denial over what’s happened… and i keep thinking of her too.

  • CS Lewis has some great thoughts on grief…  he wrote A Grief Observed after his wife, Joy, died.  I remember he said something like, “I never knew how much grief felt like fear…” 

    2 Cor 1:2-4  Grace be to you and peace from God our Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ. Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort;  Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God.

    God’s word has creative power.  Because He has spoken, that power is already at work.  Grace and peace is yours…  and comfort. 

  • Hey MaryAnn,

    Thanks for praying for *me* even as you have been going through the loss of a tremendous friend.  One thing that I remembered as I read what you wrote were a few words from a book (Geography of the Heart) by an unbeliever who had experienced loss.  He was comforted by the thought that grief is round; it wraps itself around the world that is no longer there, and it is large and it is dark, but it’s very largeness and darkness is comforting because it hints at how very big the world you shared was.

    I also get the image of the whole world in His hands.  I never met Julie, but her life has made its mark in mine through her friends. 

    I’m praying for you.

    Debbie

  • i feel bad b/c i don’t have many insights or wisdom to give, other than to say that you’re doing the right thing — giving it wholly to Him, seeking His grace (which He will give, b/c His grace is sufficient), seeking His comfort. 1thess4.13-18. in those vs’s we have hope — hope of being raised with Christ, and that hope is great. v.18- “…therefore comfort one another with these words.” pr’ing for you.

  • He’s near to the brokenhearted, to the crushed in spirit…

    *hugs*

    our flesh & our heart may fail… but He is our strength forever.  the nearness of our God is our good.

    <3

  • you’re okay mary ann *hug*

  • oh mary ann,

    everytime i read juleschen.com i get teary all over again.  praying for you.

  • all the different stages and dimensions of grief. you captured it so well.
    i heard someone say that when you have kids, you can experience a host of emotions that you otherwise wouldn’t (if you don’t have kids). likewise, i bet losing a loved one brings you into a whole other realm where you experience emotions that you otherwise couldn’t. the way you describe your grief and sorrow shows us how deep the emotional experience can be when you lose someone and helps people who haven’t been through this empathize. thank you for that.

  • Thanks for letting us press into the pain with you, Mary Ann. Ditto Joanne’s comment… I think knowing you helps me “remember” emotions that i defend myself from experiencing such that it’s almost a habit.  But when we truly live with John 15:5 in mind, we do experience such highs and lows that we might not from playing life safe… yet we experience that in those moments… there is Someone who has their hold on us so strongly and will guard our hearts such that we will not fallI just want to give you a big hug right now, yet I will tell you some words here as I am not able to…:(( (that’s the yahoo weeping smily btw)

    I am very thankful for your authenticity here… and for how heartfelt your cry to the Lord truly is, amidst this time.  I sense that God is really calling your heart to a deeper depth right now… and I pray that he would truly quiet you with his love and rejoice over you with singing… just like in Zephaniah… 

    i love that picture… the Lord, who is mighty how? mighty to save…. he who gives us the desires of our hearts as we delight in him… delights in us… and he wants to quiet us with his love. it’s like he’s putting that big warm blanket around our fears and holes in our throats and the aching empty feeling in our chest… so that he can what? rejoice over us with singing. I just think of God’s desire for you, his beloved… and I pray that you would sense his nearness, even tonight. Thanks for encouraging me to give God full access to my heart… I pray that as you do this… He would indeed quiet you with his love and give you His rejoicing and His words for your heart right now. 

    Zeph 3:17

    17 The LORD your God is with you,
           he is mighty to save.
           He will take great delight in you,
           he will quiet you with his love,
           he will rejoice over you with singing.”

    Let us know how we can love you right now, too.

    Love from Santa Barbara,
    Natalie

  • Mary Ann,

    These times can be tough- but God has made you strong, and has used you as a comfort and as an inspirer to other people- what a blessing you are. 

    Please hang in there.  Again, I want you to know that your entries truly are insightful and touching.

  • just wanted to thank every one so much for your thoughts and prayers.  thanks for walking with me through the grief.

    yes, “pressing into the pain” is the only way to healing and joy.  thanks for going on this journey with me.  -  mary ann

  • thanks for sharing your heart and soul w/ us.  grief is so hard, huh? many prayers for you…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *