August 28, 2005

  • So Much Like Me

    a poem i wrote on april 20, 2005 :

    “so much like me”
       mary ann nguyen
       april 20, 2005

    not even real
    so surreal
    uncannyness
    too much sweetness
    what to do
    with all the “me too“s?
    unnerving, at best
    will it stand the test
    as we go on
    less pro’s, more con?
    i can’t resist
    he fits my list
    as far as i see
    so much like me
    – how can it be?
    it cannot be.
    we haven’t met
    must need to forget
    lay on the altar
    trust must not falter
    the Lord will show
    in this how to grow
    to trust Him more
    to shut the door
    to run for Him
    not for my whim
    to love Him best
    set my heart at rest.
    future plans
    He’s got what’s grand.
    He won’t be late,
    and so I wait.

    so much has changed in the last 4 months.
    tonight, i wrote a follow-up:
     
    too good to be true
    this thing that’s new!
    a gift from God
    which makes us laud…
     
    “Many, O Lord my God, are the wonders you have done.  The things you planned for us no one can recount to you; were I to speak and tell of them, they would be too many to declare.”  Psalm 40:5
    I have fallen for the best man I have ever known!  His name is Sam, and he is my boyfriend…  *whoah*  i can’t believe it!

Comments (37)

  • What amazing blessings and a wonderful story of faith.  :)   Congrats!

  • congrats. i’m very happy and excited for you.

  • WHOOHOOOOOO!!! I’m SOOOO happy for you! ok, i’m talking on the phone with you right now so i’ll leave the comments to the phone! i love you!!

  • congrats mary ann! i’m glad you’ve found someone that fits the bill. he’s cute too! ;)

  • i’m getting happy goosebumps   yay!

  • YAY!!!  so fun, so fun!! 

  • Praise God and congratulations, Mary Ann! God’s provision really is best, isn’t it. Thanks for sharing the news. I hope I get to meet him sometime soon. Keep in touch. Blessings!

  • congratulations!!! praise God! hehe. you deserve the best Mary Ann :) i hope you will be happy together and that God will use you both to magnify His glory :D

  • wow!!! Praise God! He’s the best match maker hehehe. Congrats! I’m so happy for you!

  • yay! wahoo! pam told me at church today.. “it’s official” she said! ahh PTL.. what sweetness :0) mary ann, i’m coming “home” to the Bay Area in 3 wks…you better still be there!

  • Congrats Mary Ann!

  • Whoot whoot.. .  Tell us the story!

  • wooohooo! congrats mary ann!!! so happy for you!! =D

  • waoh i’m so excited for you!  Praise God! 

  • ’tis official now :) yay for mary ann, yay for sam. and yay for God who works everything for awesome (that’s my edited version).

  • you are the cutest, cutest, cutest! and i couldn’t be more excited for you! you constantly amaze me with how beautiful your relationship with God is… now you must constantly amaze me with how beautiful God has orchestrated the dawning of this new relationship… hehehe. then when i consider that the Lord is really *this good* (i mean, really, this is God after all!!!) it really shouldn’t be surprising but… still!!!

    your willingness to stand up boldly for trusting wholeheartedly His Word and His Love has always had a big effect on me, whether or not i was ready and willing to acknowledge it!  i am praising God that now i do internalize it, for i have seen and tasted for myself that your heart to trust God with everything is right on. thank you for being such a big encourager and mobilizer in helping me trust God with my heart.  i’m still making that daily commitment to do so. God has used you mightily in my own life, and oh yah – i love you, mary ann! blessings to you and samK!!! :) :) can’t wait to meet him…

  • that’s wonderful mary ann! *cheer*

  • mary ann, i’m so excited to hear this news!  please fill me in!

  • so does that mean you are staying in the bay area after your internship? hehe…. congrats!! :D

  • congratulations mary ann!!!! WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!

  • congrats mary ann!  :)   awesome.  so happy for you and sam!

  • i’m all smiles. hahahaha
    God’s timing is perrrrrfect.

  • i just realized that we protected posts will be dead/boring. awww sucks. oh well.. i guess this is a good trade off ;)

  • congrats once again this time in writing – all in His perfect timing :)

  • That’s fantastic, Mary Ann. Your thoughts on love and relationships have been a huge encouragement to me and now I totally celebrate with you. :)

  • what an awesome set of verses from isaiah!

  • AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH  MARY ANNNNNN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    you don’t understand… i’m inside-shrieking like crazy right now!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I WILL BE PRAYING FOR THE BOTH OF YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! & i want to hear more!!!!

  • Yeah!! Go God!! I can second that Amen about God being the most amazing matchmaker .. haha .. better than what our crazy imaginations may come up with and bring such JOY!! Speechless and overwhelmed with words at the same time. it was good chatting with you =P

    Praise the Lord!!

  • what a wonderful poem & what a wonderful story God’s writing in your life.  congrats mary ann!  i am so very happy for you… God is amazing, isn’t He? :)

  • What words can I share with you at this special time? “Hodu l’Adonai ki tov” (Praise/Bless/Thank the Lord for [He is] good {Hebrew from the Psalms})

  • such an inspiration!!!

  • That’s so great — to fall for the greatest guy you have ever known!  I’m really happy for you!  Prayer WORKS!  PTL!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *