November 4, 2004

  • On the Verge of Something Wonderful.


    The title says it all! 


    I’m reading a book right now about some intelligent men in a college who banded together to pray together and serve together and live life together.  They sharpened each other and pushed each other towards new heights for Christ.  When they graduated, they left their “elite” positions in society to become missionaries to China.  These men are known as the Cambridge Seven.  They became great and amazing people because they did it together.  I feel very inspired.  Let’s band together, guys!  Something amazing happens when a group of people with one heart and one passion get on their knees together and live for Jesus.


    I am praying for something amazing these days.  <Stay tuned.>


    On another note, I am finally feeling settled here! 


    Evidence 1:  Insomnia-Less


    At last, I’ve been able to sleep straight through the night several days in a row!  Praise God!!!  =) 


    Evidence 2:  Books



    I’m reading books again.  I haven’t felt at peace enough to read for several months.  It has almost killed me this phase of not reading.  This week I inhaled Atonement Child and now Cambridge Seven.


    Evidence 3:  Checks




    This just in… new checks (they’re beeeeeeautiful!!!) with my Redwood City address on them!!  I’m an official resident now!  Comment from housemate Kim, “You must be planning to live here a long time to get so many checks.”  Funny, the clerk wanted me to buy even MORE.  It’s just one box!!  =) 


    Here are my wonderful housemates:



    This is me, Kim and her husband Tim and their dog Jimbo!!


    Here are some mementos from this past weekend.



    Avocados from Agnes, who invited me over for a sleepover.  We stayed up til 2am talking (she is my mom’s age, by the way, so it was a special treat!).  Nutri-grain from Janine, who let me have her 2-yr-old box the night she, Natalie and I reminisced about old-CBC.  And three books that I read to Natalie for devotions the Saturday she was visiting. 


    And I can’t end this entry without…




    “Auntie Mary Ann” feedng Ilana.  (Julie and I babysat this week while Colleen & Bernard went on a date!)

Comments (7)

  • How is that Yancey book?  I really like his stuff.  I think I’ve bought about 5 copies of “What’s So Amazing About Grace? so far.  Can’t get enough. :)

  • hey, I know Kim from college! Wow, small world. What does she do now? Can you tell her I said hi? (hope she remember me.. Tomoko from UCSC) haha cool!

  • Ilana is a messy eater! hahah…props to Mary Ann, who is now an Auntie. :)  

  • I’m Natalies friend from UCSB. I was wondering if you ever consider going to China in the future? I’ve been on the verge of something big lately too.

    William

  • Can I say how encouraged I am by your blogging? Thanks, Mary Ann.

  • Your title reminds me of an old Rich Mullins song – “On the Verge of a Miracle.” :) Listen to it!

  • mree.. i just saw ur note in my planner today that said “pray for mary ann” and i smiled in the pain of getting thru my last class of a long week. and i prayed for you :0) i’m so glad ur doing better.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *