Month: November 2011

  • A Puppy

    These days, I walk around the house with a little puppy following me at my heels.  As I sit on the couch and work on my laptop, I see her little tail wagging back and forth as she plays with her squeaky toys.  She is a puppy full of puppy energy and there is nothing else like it.

    I've always wanted to have a dog.  When I was little, we had a dog for a little while, but when we moved, my parents gave her away without telling me, so I never had a chance to say goodbye.  It was heartbreaking not to have any closure when I had such a close bond with her.  I had spent countless days playing with her, talking to her, teaching her things.  She was a real friend, not just an animal, and I loved taking care of her.

    We ended up with this little Cocker Spaniel puppy quite impulsively -- at least, it might appear that way.  Her previous family had to give her up because of their apartment policy.  They only had three days' notice.  It was either we took her in, or she would end up at the animal shelter.  What would happen to such a sweet-tempered little puppy if she was thrown into a small pen with a few other dogs?  I just couldn't bear the thought.  The night that we met her, I negotiated with my rational husband that if it didn't work out for us, then we could still find a good home for her. 

    This was not the first time we had talked about the possibility of getting a dog.  We had been seriously researching the possibility for several months -- and had talked about getting a dog since we got married.  Through the years, we would make regular visits to the pet store and would even go to the humane society as our "dates" sometimes.  One of the ways that we know God has knit our hearts together is that my husband and I both have have soft spots for the abandoned, rejected and unwanted.  That's how we wound up with a guinea pig a few years ago.  (She had been relinquished by someone -- just dropped off at the pet store).  That's also why we were foster parents.  We were so moved by God's unrelenting call to his people to care for the orphans.  Because we are a people who have experienced so much love, we just can't help but want to make a way so that others can know how life was meant to be.  "Others" includes dogs and guinea pigs too.

    As we've had Zoe, the Cocker Spaniel, around for the last two weeks, I've become more cognizant of this innate desire I have always had to take care of things.  From plants, to dogs, to guinea pigs, to children to people... I just want to pour myself into God's creation and watch how they grow.  It is one of the most life-giving things to me to see life being given to others.  Being a pastor, being a mom, being a gardener, being pet owner... all of it echoes back to the very core of my being made in the image of my Creator.

    I want to end this blog entry there on that high note, but the reality is that we are not going to be able to keep her.  She is such a good puppy and deserves to be in a home where more attention can be given to her, which will enable her to be the happy puppy that she is (proper training, proper socialization).  It pains me to have to give her up, but I know it is the right thing to do at this juncture in our lives.  And even in this short amount of time together, my life has been enriched by the opportunity to care of this little puppy and teach her new things.  It will be sad when we have to relinquish her next week.  But at least this time, I will get to say goodbye. 


    Meet Zoe.  Her name means "life" because she is full of life.