Month: October 2011

  • Seeking wholeness

    I’ve been learning more recently to have more of a backbone.  I didn’t realize until recently that I have a tendency to be as accommodating as possible to other people’s desires and wishes.  But God has been taking me through a journey of seeking wholeness for my life.  In constantly accommodating for others, I have neglected myself.  I end up doing things that I don’t really want to do.  I end up doing things that God never asked me to do.  As a result, I feel stressed, tired and a great sense of dread about everything.  How can I blame anyone for that but myself?  It’s hard for me to set up boundaries and be firm.  I want to make sure others are taken care of and make sure their needs are met.  But is that my responsibility? 

    I’m trying to keep in mind that:

    - Even if I have the time, I may not have the emotional capacity. 
    - I want to do a few things well, not a lot of things haphazardly.
    - Blocking out time to rest and be refreshed is a legitimate use of my time. 
    - I only have to be faithful to what God has called me to.